How much auto insurance do you need in Dallas?

The state of Texas is experiencing quite the population boom, which has some people wondering about car insurance. How much auto assurance do you need to be covered in the Lone Star state? Are there specific requirements for insurance of which every Dallas, TX resident should be aware? The Select Insurance Agency is here to answer your questions.

Texas Auto Insurance Insurance Requirements

The Lone Star state requires all drivers to have insurance to operate a vehicle in the region. An adequate policy, according to the law, is one that provides payment of up to $30,000 per injured person and at least $60,000 for damages per accident. You must also have coverage for property damage that amounts to at least $25,000 per incident.

You do not need to have uninsured or underinsured motorist coverage to operate a vehicle in the state of Texas. It is never a bad idea, though, to explore the benefits of such addition to your policy.

Providing Proof Of Insurance

Residents driving through Dallas, TX and other parts of the state must have proof of insurance at all times. You must furnish such proof of indemnity coverage when requested to do so by a police officer or face the risk of being cited for failing to show evidence of assurance. Showing proof of insurance is also necessary when you are involved in a car accident. Such is especially true if you are the driver at fault. You will need to furnish evidence of your having an indemnity policy during your vehicle’s annual inspection.

Let A Professional Help

The world of auto insurance can be daunting for the average consumer. Many drivers often find that minimum policy limits as set forth by the state are not enough to protect them from financial turmoil in the instance of a car accident. You need to contact the representatives at The Select Insurance Agency to find the plan that best suits your needs.